Public Square Book Series Mission & Advisory Board

Book Series Editor, Ruth O’Brien

The Public Square series showcase some of the world’s finest public intellectuals writing on topics at the forefront of public discourse. It features authors–be they professors, journalists, essayists, poets, or novelists–whose distinctive voices resonate both within, and far beyond, the confines of the academy. Artful, accessible, and analytical, their essays contribute to international dialogue, shape and frame national debates, and engage with enduring and fundamental questions.

The Advisory Board:
 Eric Alterman  K. Anthony Appiah  Alan Brinkley
 Mitchell Cohen  Martha Fineman  Ira Katznelson
 Robin D. G. Kelly  Gara LaMarche  Lewis H. Lapham
 Nicholas Lemann  Doug McAdam  Louis Menand
 James Morone  Jo-Ann Mort  David Nasaw
 Victor Navasky  Anne Norton  Frances Fox Piven
 John Podesta  Jill Quadagno  Rogers Smith
 Deborah Stone  Philipa Strum  Cass Sunstein
 Neera Tanden  Michael Walzer  William Julius Wilson